Bowdoin College-Polar Bear Field Hockey Camps

Nicky Pearson

Head Coach

The fall of 2018 will mark the 23rd season for Nicky Pearson as the head coach of the Bowdoin College field hockey program. In the years since she has taken over the team, the Polar Bears have established themselves as the premiere team in Division III field hockey, qualifying for the postseason every year, making Final Four appearances in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015.

She has coached the Polar Bears to four Division III Championships, earning titles in 2007, '08, '10 and '13.

Seven times she has been honored as the NESCAC Coach of the Year (2000 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2010) and she is the only coach to have won the honor more than twice.

Four times, in 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2013, Pearson earned her profession's highest honor when she was recognized as the Division III Coach of the Year following each of Bowdoin's national championships. In '07, she directed the Polar Bears to a perfect 20-0 campaign and NCAA Championship - the first by any team in school history. She has won the NESCAC Tournament Championship seven times - more than any other coach in conference history.

Her teams own an astounding 30-9 record in NCAA Tournament play.

Pearson has established a reputation for developing players to their full potential. Pearson's players have collected 42 NFHCA All-American awards and six players Heather Hawes ('99), Taryn King ('05), Lindsay McNamara ('07, '08), Ella Curren ('11), Brooke Phinney ('12), and Rachel Kennedy ('14) have earned NESCAC Player of the Year recognition. Additionally, dozens of players have achieved NFHCA Academic All-American status.

A native of Hereford (England), Pearson attended St. Mary's College of London, receiving her Bachelor of Education in Physical Education and Biology. While in England, Pearson was a member of the National Field Hockey Club Champions and competed at the European Club Field Hockey Championships in Frankfurt, Germany in 1990. Her accolades include All-England Women's Field Hockey Association Coaches Award and the British Weight Training Coaches Award.